The 5 Vayus – Simple Explanation & Meditation


Through the exploration of the breath, ancient yogis created an awareness of the vital life force or Prana that flows within us as air.  They noticed more subtle directions and energetic qualities and divided the different aspects of this flow of air into 5 Vayus or ‘winds’.  With practice one can come to recognise and have mastery over these 5 winds, but even with some simple knowledge and appreciation we can still benefit from using them to improve our inward focus and subtle awareness of the body and breath.

You can read the following as a simple meditation: read it through and work with the breath directions; then softly close your eyes and take your awareness to each centre and recall the name and influences of each Vayu…

Sit comfortably and feel the solid earth beneath the body, allow a sense of groundedness to fill up your being – gratitude to Mother Earth for all that she brings us – the sunshine, the rain and the wind.

As your next breath develops feel the chest expand, continue to inhale deeply as the ribcage grows to the front, sides and back.  Here the wind is known as the prana Vayu.  This governs the intake, inspiration, propulsion and forward momentum of our being and flows in the chest area.  As you exhale, take the awareness down to the lower abdomen, squeezing all the air out and resting your awareness finally in the pelvis.  This flow is known as apana Vayu, flowing in the pelvis and governing elimination, downward and outward movement.  On the next inhale bring the focus to the navel and feel the width of the waist expand, here the flow is known as samana Vayu: the movement is side to side, like a pendulum, and governs inner absorption, discernment and consolidation.

Keeping the focus in this navel area, allow your awareness to move from side to side.  Absorbing and consolidating this information:- prana Vayu – chest, inward: apana Vayu – pelvis, down and outward: samana Vayu – navel, pendulum, consolidation. Repeat this if you’d like to.

When you feel ready, as you next inhale move the awareness up to the throat, neck and head.  On exhalation feel the air moving down the arms and legs and out through the finger tips and toes.  This circulation of air is known as udana Vayu and governs growth, speech, expression and movement.  The 5th airflow is called vyana Vayu and pervades the whole body, it governs the circulation and provides a boost if another Vayu is exhausted.  So, udana Vayu is flowing in the extremities – breathe in feel the air filling up the head and breathe out feel it circulating out through fingers and toes.  Finally breathing in as though the whole body were an empty vessel… feeling a sense that the vyana Vayu is flowing freely and smoothly throughout your whole being.

Close the eyes softly and begin in the chest – work your way through the 5 Vayus to feel balanced, calm and refreshed – just as the wind refreshes the land around us.


Published by yogadeb

Yoga teacher in Stamford, UK, and online

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: