Anahata Chakra

Anahata is the Sanskrit name for the heart chakra. The symbol is a green lotus flower with 12 petals. As you would expect the location of this chakra (energy wheel where channels of energy cross) is at the heart.

This chakra is associated with love and compassion. When this chakra is balanced we feel loved and able to give love with plenty of patience, forgiveness and warmth in our attitude to people and life in general.

Each of our chakras relates to our emotions and the heart centre is all about trust -accepting new ideas, being open and flexible. When we are in a place of confidence, feeling loved and loving, we feel more secure less threatened by change.

In yoga we can focus our attention on Anahata by working on physical practices such as back bends and movements with the arms. When we place our awareness in the heart space and practice relaxations, meditations and breathing exercises we can develop a stronger sense of love.

I have prepared a downloadable exercise that you might like to do. You can colour in the Anahata symbol keeping your awareness in the heart centre. When complete, pin it up at eye level and gaze softly on the symbol. Finally close your eyes and focus in the heart space listening for the sound of your own heartbeat.

Download the Anahata Worksheet here

Published by yogadeb

Yoga teacher in Stamford, UK, and online

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: